Home » RDBMS Server » Security » urgent... password problem for oracle 10g on linux
icon5.gif  urgent... password problem for oracle 10g on linux [message #117049] Sun, 24 April 2005 00:47 Go to next message
sunil_v_mishra
hi,

I am new at oracle 10g on linux o/s

My problem is that without giving password i can connect to my database as sysdba. I want that only one password for sysdba ... i can ceate password file but when i create password file then also my problem is not solved as i can connect to database as sysdba without giving password .. i dont know what to do ....help me please ..any one

========
Note :-
========
[1] I am working on oracle 10g on linux
[2] I am creating password file after shuting down my oracle 10g database.
[3]I was not able to find this paramete SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES. in my sqlnet.ora in oracle 10g
[4]Below is my files content of sqlnet.ora which is located at /home/oracle/product/10.1.0/Db/network/admin/sqlnet.ora

# sqlnet.ora Network Configuration File: /home/oracle/product/10.1.0/Db/network/
admin/sqlnet.ora
# Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

NAMES.DIRECTORY_PATH= (TNSNAMES, EZCONNECT)

From
Sunil
Re: urgent... password problem for oracle 10g on linux [message #117075 is a reply to message #117049] Sun, 24 April 2005 10:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
girish.rohini
HI

For using password file authentication, try setting the initialization parameter REMOTE_LOGIN_PASSWORDFILE parameter to EXCLUSIVE or SHARED

Also, do check the connect string you are giving. Right now, you must be giving
"connect / as sysdba". This uses OS authentication.
Try giving "connect sys as sysdba", then it will ask for the password.

Regds
Girish
Re: urgent... password problem for oracle 10g on linux... mahesh frank martin [message #117121 is a reply to message #117075] Mon, 25 April 2005 05:02 Go to previous messageGo to next message
sunil_v_mishra
hi,